Welcome To Tiger Town


Then vs. Now

Posted in Uncategorized by Tiger82 on November 17, 2006

So the big wedding of Luke & Laura was 25 years ago today. To celebrate, they did it all over again today.

Now, maybe the guys from our class have no idea what I’m talking about or who Luke & Laura are but most of the gals will surely remember how they spent at least part of that summer before senior year – watching General Hospital!  The Luke & Laura story line had everyone in a tizzy that summer. Once school started, it was reported that colleges weren’t scheduling classes during the hour that the show aired, because they knew no one would show up. Even Prince Charles & Princess Diana (the other huge “that’s what dreams are made of” event of that season) sent champagne! Lots of high school girls called in “sick” that day with “Luke & Laura-itis.” Others, with parents who weren’t buying it, had to settle for taping the show. It was huge!

Fast forward 25 years and curiosity got the best of me, so I made time to tune in and watch the show from my desk. Fortunately, this time around, the ceremony only took about ten minutes and I was back to work. Some times waxing nostalgic falls flat.

But it did get me to thinking about other stuff from back in the day, so after I picked up “the chosen fetus” from school, we took a road trip – to ROADSIDE. Yeah – I went to Roadside with my kid – at 3:00 in the afternoon! How uncool is that?

Even more uncool was that I forgot how to get there and mistakenly took Old Spanish Trail instead of Fremaux. (I’ve always confused those two and I live here!) It ended up being a really long but scenic road trip!

Knowing that that area had been decimated by the storm, I guess I just wanted to see if it was even still there. Finally arriving, I was happy to see that not much had changed. I sat in the car for a while, just taking it all in and while there are still a lot of downed trees and storm debris, otherwise it looks about the same as it did when we last saw it through inebriated eyes!  Ok I admit it; I got a wee bit teary-eyed on this trip down memory lane but in my defense, I’m a  blood donor and today was platelets day, so I wasn’t fully at myself.

Known today as The Lousiana Nature Conservancy, a group of volunteers from Chevron built a boardwalk on the site back in 1998 for bird watchers to do their thing. It seems the area is home to a bald eagle or duck billed dodo bird or some kind of endangered something, about which I know nothing because I’m a card carrying Republican and you know how we are about such things.  Anyhoo, the boardwalk has been cleaned up post-storm and from October to April, bird lovers can go there and get all hot and bothered about a bird. Hey, whatever floats your boat! I just wonder if they bring beer.

Maybe, just maybe, we should have our class picnic at Roadside instead of Heritage Park! It’s not until July, so it’s not like we’d be disturbing the little birdies or anything.

And now, some sad news…for those in our class no longer living in Slidell – count your blessings. Our Post-Katrina Post-Apocalyptic little corner of the world that we call home has been dealt yet another blow. WRNO is no more!

In what can only be described as one more cruel joke of many being played on us here, by what I like to call “the powers that be that shouldn’t be,” we awoke from our slumber a few mornings ago, only to find that the same station that lauded itself as “The Rock of New Orleans” for as long as anyone can remember, is now TALK RADIO! Talk about your rude awakening!

So let’s review: Luke and Laura – still together. Charles and Diana – not. Roadside – still there. RNO – not!

I guess two outta four ain’t bad but I’d still rather hear Meatloaf in the morning instead of mindless babble.

Gnanse

Leave a Reply

